Blog Image

raison d'être blog

Atomine Elektrine – The Antikythera Mechanism – 2LP/CD/Digital – available now for pre-order

news Posted on Sun, November 24, 2019 10:55:29

The Antikythera Mechanism 2LP/CD/Digital is now available for pre-order:

Press release:

A container of all the knowledge about the universe.
The motion of the gears deeply intertwine a link between micro- and macrocosm.
A mechanism that simulates cosmology and senses characteristics of an eclipse, with color, size and associated winds.
Define a question, and there will be a calculated answer, even capable of astral divination.
Is it an all-seeing eye, or perhaps something beyond even that;
a magic entity capable of creating the cosmic events that it is supposed to measure and foretell.
If so, is it by nature auspicious or ominous.
Or is it merely a representation and extension of ourselves and our senses,
trying to reach both the celestial and the intrinsically unobtainable.

Winter-Light warmly welcomes Peter Andersson to our label, with his ‘Atomine Elektrine’ project and a stunning new studio album ‘The Antikythera Mechanism’.

Here we are invited or compelled even, to delve deep into the intricacies and finely tuned mechanics of this mysterious, all-encompassing machine.

Infinitely extending it’s influence across multi-dimensions of time and space, constantly calculating, cogs ever turning, gears whirring, mapping, learning, storing and moving ever onwards. Leaving in it’s wake, a vast ocean of unimaginable cosmic events, left to ripple through time until they too fade away to become yet another click in the eternal cycle of ‘The Antikythera Mechanism’.

© Peter Andersson 2019
© Winter-Light 2019
Cover concept and design by Midnight Sun Studio.

Cantos extracts appearing on the artwork taken from the Swedish ‘Aniara’, a poem by Harry Martinson, 1956.

Difference between the CD/Digital and vinyl version

‘The Antikythera Mechanism’ has a small degree of randomness built-in to the sounds which means that the output of each rendering becomes slightly different. The tracks on the vinyl are of a different rendering than the tracks for the CD/Digital. This is a natural glitch in The Antikythera Mechanism and it is more or less noticeable.

The sounds are the same but the positions in the sounds are time offset in an arbitrary mode. Any further inequalities are due to the fact that a different mastering technique is utilised for the vinyl version, than for the CD/Digital version.

As well as there being a different final rendering for the vinyl version, the DLP also comes with an additional and exclusive track, which clocks in at 19:52.

CD comes in a 6-panel full colour digipak limited to 500 copies.
All sonic fragments and tonalities cosmically geared by Peter Andersson 2018-2019.
K-14 level mastering by Peter Andersson 2019.

1 – Arcturus Alpha Boo (10:30)
2 – Metonic Spiral (09:54)
3 – The Exeligmos Pointer (09:31)
4 – Time Dislocated in the Mechanism (09:44)
5 – Epicylic Gearing (10:02)
6 – Fragment F (10:38)

6 tracks with a total running time of 60:19 mins.

Black vinyl DLP comes in a full-colour, 350g paper, gloss-finished gatefold sleeve with black poly-lined inner bags. Limited to 200 copies.
All sonic fragments and tonalities cosmically geared by Peter Andersson 2018-2019.
Pre-mastering by Peter Andersson 2019.

A1 – Arcturus Alpha Boo (10:33)
A2 – Metonic Spiral (10:02)
B1 – The Exeligmos Pointer (09:37)
B2 – Time Dislocated in the Mechanism (09:51)
C1 – Epicylic Gearing (10:07)
C2 – Fragment F (10:40)
D1 – On the Eight of the Anthesterion (19:52)

7 tracks with a total running time of 80:42 mins.

This is the first time that Atomine Elektrine has had a vinyl release.


raison d’être – Après Nous Le Déluge (Trinity Edition) – Digital/2CD -available now for pre-order

news Posted on Sat, October 26, 2019 20:09:59

Après Nous Le Déluge (Trinity Edition) – Digital/2CD is now available for pre-order.

Press release:

The dark, atmospheric and energetic mix of choirs, strings, various FX-sounds, heavy drums and tribal sections makes this the seed for the raison d’être sound trademark that begun with the album ‘Prospectus I’ from 1993. Released in 1992 ‘Aprés Nous Le Dèluge’ became the first official output from raison d’être when it went available on the Cold Meat Industry subsidiary label Sound Source.

There are three versions of ‘Aprés Nous Le Dèluge’ and now they have finally all been joined into one complete album release: the Trinity Edition. The original version released on cassette in 1992, first as a private demo tape and soon after slightly slimmed officially on the Cold Meat Industry sub label Sound Source, had many flaws in the recording quality due to bad equipment and poor skills. The remixed version from 1995 was an attempt to make things better. It was a try to recreate the whole album but the mission failed. Only about half of the tracks was possible to recreate and the second half were just the original version treated with equalisation and reverb. Also, many sounds on the remixed tracks were missing thus replaced with new sounds. In 2012 there was a new more serious attempt to recreate the whole album. The intention with the reduxed version was to recreate the energy and feeling of the original version but still making it well balanced and clear in the mix.

1) Après Nous Le Déluge – Acte I (redux)
2) Après Nous Le Déluge – Acte II (redux)
3) Raison D’être (redux)
4) The Final Wagon (redux)
5) Moribund (redux)
6) De Profundis (redux)
7) Death Brightens With Sorrow (redux)
8) Paragon Sequence (redux)
9) Ignesco Comburo (redux)
10) Frigus Membra (redux)
11) Memento Mori (redux)
12) Intercourse In The Garden Of Delight When Evil Suddenly Appear And Disappear
13) Après Nous Le Déluge – Acte I (remix)
14) Après Nous Le Déluge – Acte II (remix)
15) Raison D’être (remix)
16) The Final Wagon (remix)
17) Moribund (remix)

1) De Profundis (remix)
2) Death Brightens With Sorrow (remix)
3) Paragon Sequence (remix)
4) Ignesco Comburo (remix)
5) Frigus Membra (remix)
6) Memento Mori (remix)
7) Après Nous Le Déluge – Acte I
8) Après Nous Le Déluge – Acte II
9) Raison D’être
10) The Final Wagon
11) Moribund
12) De Profundis
13) Death Brightens With Sorrow
14) Paragon Sequence
15) Ignesco Comburo
16) Frigus Membra
17) Memento Mori

All tracks composed by Peter Andersson between 1991 and 1992. K-14 level mastering by Peter Andersson 2019.

CD 1 Track 1-11 are recreated reduxed versions that have been restored, re-recorded and mixed in 2012.
CD 1 Track 12 is the original recording from 1992. This track was not part of the original Après Nous Le Déluge material but can be seen as a closely related bonus track.
CD 1 Track 13 to 17 and CD 2 track 1 to 6 are remixed versions from 1995.
CD 2 Track 7 to 17 are original recordings from 1991/1992, transferred from the original master tape.